As you've already guessed, I'm not one of those 'patriotic' Canadians that are shown in the news, waving the maple leaf, belting out verses of our national anthem and eating Tim Bits covered in maple syrup, or whatever they're doing. And personally, I hate poutine and the insipid swill that Tim Horton's calls 'coffee'. I'm one of those disgruntled, and yes, disgusted Canadians who has seen this country for what it truly is - a clusterfuck of beaurocracy-gone-bad, criminals, poverty, and crooked politicians.
OUR HOME AND NATIVE LAND
"Our Home and Native Land"?! Seriously? Look at the way the native people have been, and still are treated! They were rounded up, the children thrown into residential schools, and many of those who are now in their 60's are still trying to come to terms with the abuses suffered at the hands of 'good Canadians'. If Canada truly abided by the Charter Rights and Freedoms, I would not be posting in this light. I am a third generation Vancouverite, in that my parents and at least one of my grandparents were born and raised in Greater Vancouver. But this city, as aesthetically pleasing as it is with the ocean, the mountains, and lush forests and parks is a cesspool of poverty and homelessness caused largely by unemployment and addiction. And we're not alone - this malaise is one that stretches nation-wide. Moreover, if my great uncles had known that by going overseas during the second World War to fight for this country would result in what it is today, they might have saved themselves the trouble by going AWOL or finding another way out.
BRING CASH
Those who have said that BC stands for "Bring Cash" have hit the nail on the head. For those hovering around the 'poverty line', or below it, there is no opportunity, nothing to look forward to, no 'quality' in our quality of life. I can't even take my son to the aquarium, Science World or Playland because I just can't afford the general admission, and I know that I am not alone. We can go to the local pet store and look at the fish, but it's not the same.
Even trying to eat and keep a roof over one's head is often a daunting task. Food costs so much, I come out of the supermarket with two pathetically small bags of groceries, after having paid more than $30 for them, and that only supplies a couple of days. Then there are utilities, bus fare - the list goes on. And despite a reasonably good education, and years of work experience, I can't even find a job at a Starbucks, so I am stuck working online for pennies, which puts me at the computer up to 13 hours a day.
Although some people are celebrating with barbecues and fireworks, to me July 1 is just another day, because when you step back, and take off the rose coloured glasses, Canada, like everything else, is what it is.
Oh, yeah...Happy Canada Day (LOL)
No comments:
Post a Comment